Final honor society induction of school year recognizes journalistic talent

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

WEST ORANGE, NJ — Rising seniors at West Orange High School meeting the rigorous Escriptus Honor Society requirements joined the ranks of the prestigious honor society on June 11, while graduating seniors received their cords.

To qualify for Escriptus, students must receive a grade of “A” in all language arts classes for all years of high school. Once becoming a member, students must attend meetings, maintain a monthly bulletin board, participate in school activities, assist in the coordination of the annual Poetry Out Loud event and be published in three separate publications.

Elizabeth Veneziano, the language arts supervisor for grades six through 12, welcomed the family, friends and colleagues present for the ceremony. Advisers Mindy Harvat and Molly Wachtel presented cords to the seniors and led new members in the oath of induction.

Graduating Escriptus seniors include: Blair Allen, who will attend Drexel University; Aion Ashby, who will attend Cornell University; Melissa Callen, who will attend Stevens Institute of Technology; outgoing Escriptus President Anna Favetta, who will attend University of Delaware; David Fernandez, who will attend Rhode Island School of Design; Julian Gorring, who will attend Ithaca College; Aishwarya Kanagala, who will attend the Honors College of Rutgers University; Katie Meyerson, who will attend American University; Tanveer Qureshi, who will attend George Washington University; Abby Rosu, who will attend The College of New Jersey; Lilian Umetiti, who will attend Rutgers University; and Margaux Whitehead, who will attend Loyola University Chicago.

Newly inducted Escriptus members for the 2018-19 school year include: Aysar Abdelgelil, Katie Andersen, Maribel Andrade, Danielle Berger, Aarushi Bhatnagar, Jordan Broking, Morgan Clark, Sessina Dani, Rebecca Dannemiller, Celeste Dayal, Eniya Jaber, Emily Lux, Connor Mills, incoming President Riddhi Modi, Siddhi Modi, Nyah Moliere, Proggya Paromita, Grace Perincheri, Mike Petros, Zoe Rivera, Ameera Seetahal, Truman Segal, Jaden Thompson, Ruthanne Ward, Hannah Winter and Saleme Woldai.

The Escriptus Honor Society, whose motto is “Gelast Sceal Mid Are,” or “Duty Goes With Honor,” adorns their seal, also recognized the members of its advisory committee: Victor Alcindor, Elicia Baker, Katie Baran, Tonio Favetta, Mindy Harvat, Janine Sullivan, Tynia Thomassie and Molly Wachtel.

Photos Courtesy of WOSD