Three new Orange BOE members are sworn in

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

ORANGE, NJ — Sueann Gravesande, Guadalupe Cabido and Shawneque Johnson were sworn in to the applause of families and friends at the Orange Board of Education reorganization at Orange Preparatory Academy on Monday, Jan. 6.

“Tonight is a swearing-in ceremony for three new school board members on the Orange School Board,” Essex County Clerk Chris Durkin said to the Record-Transcript prior to the event. “We have Guadalupe Cabido, Shawneque Johnson and Sueann Gravesande. I think tonight’s swearing-in is exciting. A great opportunity for these three women to stand up and to lead in this community, and there’s no greater resource than our children. So for them to have this great responsibility, I feel that they are ready and more than capable of leading and setting policy. This is such a big budget, as far as the government goes, when you talk about schools, that you need the best, the most responsible and the most intelligent people on the school board, and I think Orange has that.”

“I think tonight’s turnout will be a beautiful turnout,” Durkin added.

The three newest members of the Orange BOE have all expressed their excitement about what the night holds, as well as their bright futures on the Board of Education.

“I feel nervous,” said Gravesande to the Record-Transcript right before the event began on Monday, Jan. 6. “I’m excited also. I think this will be a transformative experience, and I’m happy to be part of that transformative experience. I can’t wait to get to work.”

“I’m very excited about tonight’s swearing in,” Cabido said to the Record-Transcript right before the event. “I’m coming in with a lot of energy and I’m hoping that we can bring in transparency and help the system support our children better and more efficiently.”

“I am overly ecstatic,” said Johnson to the Record-Transcript before the event began. “I would like to add that I am looking forward to the change and a new regime and turn something good into something great.”

After the three women were sworn in, by a majority vote, the board chose Tyrone Tarver as its new president, with a one-year term, expiring 2021.

Also with a majority vote, the board chose Brenda Daughtry as its new vice president, with a two-year term, expiring 2022.