Newark Police Department presented with Lifesaver Award

Photo Courtesy of Elizabeth Clemens
From left are Newark Chief of Police Lee Douglas III; Newark Deputy Director of Public Safety Sharonda Morris; Sgt. Miguel Silva; Officers Abdul Aziz Yasin, Charbill Yacoub, Tianna Contreras and Briana Shanklin; Newark Public Safety Director Brian A. O’Hara; Newark Police Deputy Chief Arthur Jorge; and American Foundation for Suicide Prevention NJ Director Elizabeth Clemens.

NEWARK, NJ — The Newark Police Department was presented with the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention NJ Chapter’s Lifesaver Award on Thursday, June 3, for the department’s lifesaving efforts and continued commitment to mental health in Newark. 

So far in 2021, Newark police officers have averted three suicides. Sincere thanks and gratitude is extended to Sgt. Miguel Silva, and Officers Tianna Contreras, Briana Shanklin, Darrell Fields, Abdul Aziz Yasin, Andres Luna and Charbill Yacoub. AFSP recognized and commended the sergeant and officers for the actions they took in preventing suicide, for showing a high level of training, and for exemplifying compassion and humility. 

Suicide is the 10th leading cause of death in the United States, yet many people affected by suicide don’t talk about it, afraid of making others uncomfortable by bringing up the subject. They may also think there is nothing they can do to prevent it from happening to others, but the research shows otherwise. Suicide can be prevented and there are things everyone can do to help stem this tragic loss of life.