Student-athletes receive Super Essex Conference Best Teammate Awards


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Yogi Berra Museum & Learning Center, located on the campus of Montclair State University, hosted the annual Super Essex Conference Best Teammate Award ceremony on Thursday, May 19.

The Best Teammate Award is given annually to SEC student-athletes for promoting team unity, selflessness and positively impacting their team’s culture.

The following are this year’s honorees:

Jeremiah Fleurant, Arts High School

Keila Garcia, Belleville HS

Leo Marin, Bloomfield HS

Romario Henry, Bloomfield Tech

Shannon Johnson, Caldwell HS

Michael Slattery, Cedar Grove HS

Saleem Bush, Central HS

David Nichols, Christ the King Prep

Michael Nitti, Columbia HS

Edwin Duodu, East Orange Campus HS

Kathia Alfaro, East Side HS

Margo Scanlon, Glen Ridge HS

Rebecca Landau, Golda Ochs Academy HS

Sherwin Bentick, Immaculate Conception HS

Ashley Foreman, Irvington HS

Holly Wright, Livingston HS

Charlotte Thomas, Millburn HS

Sean Flannery, Montclair HS

Ross Turkington, Montclair Kimberley Academy

Molly Brodkowski, Mount Saint Dominic

Martina Christie, No. 13th St. Tech

Paige Willian, Newark Academy

Jose Rodriguez, Newark Tech

Eric Scalera, Nutley HS

Selena Garcia, Orange HS

Leah Rowan, Saint Vincent Academy

Adrian Romero, Science Park HS

Ben Mara, Seton Hall Prep

Jocelyn Jaramillo, Technology

Megan Flood, Verona HS

Naylene Vasquez, Weequahic HS

Thomas Tabatneck, West Essex HS

Temtayo Adesokan, West Orange HS

Daviean Espinal, West Side HS

In the photo gallery are some of the honorees with guest speaker Dave Masur, who is the head coach of the St. John’s men’s soccer team, and Betty Spiropolous, VP market manager of Investors Bank, which helps sponsor the Best Teammate program.

In the photos are:

Rebecca Landau, Golda Och Academy soccer, basketball, and softball

Leo Marin, Bloomfield football and wrestling

Keila Garcia, Belleville soccer, basketball, and softball

Edwin Duodu, East Orange Campus volleyball

Margo Scanlon, Glen Ridge softball

Temitayo Adesokan, West Orange wrestling

Photos by Andrew Mordzynski/YBMLC