Belleville HS baseball team playing better; posts two straight wins

BELLEVILLE, NJ – The Belleville High School varsity baseball team has been playing much better, much to head coach Joe Sorce’s delight.
On Friday, May 4, the Bucs had a tough loss to Montclair Kimberley Academy, 7-6.

On Monday, May 7, the Bucs fell at Cedar Grove, 6-5.

“In both games we had the tying run in scoring position in the seventh,” said BHS head coach Joe Sorce. “We have built off that by winning our last two.”

On Wednesday, May 9, Belleville defeated North 13th Street Tech, 14-8. Freshman Kevin Arroyo earned the win in relief. Juniors Chris Amparo and Brian Defreites each had two hits.

On Thursday, May 10, the Bucs defeated Verona, 5-2. Sophomore Albert Carrero pitched into the seventh inning to earn his third win of the season. Senior Danny Pinedo came out of the bullpen to earn the save. “Albert has done a good job for us this year on the mound,” Sorce said. “He has thrown strikes and kept hitters off balance.”

Junior catcher Derek Lombardi had two hits to lead the Bucs’ offense.

The Bucs moved to a 6-14 record with six games to play.

Schedule

Friday, May 11, home vs. Glen Ridge. Sebastian Alverio starts the start on the mound.

Monday, May 14, home vs. West Essex. Justin Klus gets the start.

Tuesday, May 15, home vs. Lodi, 7 p.m. Carrero gets the start.

Friday, May 18, at JFK Iselin

Saturday, May 19, vs. Bloomfield, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, May 22, vs. Nutley, at Yogi Berra Stadium

COMMENTS