WOHS bowler Knox makes all-state team, SEC announces conference teams

Kieryn Knox

ESSEX COUNTY, NJ — NJ.com recently announced its all-state boys bowling teams for the 2020-2021 season, and West Orange High School junior Kieryn Knox was named to the first team. 

A second-team all-stater last season, Knox made the jump to first team with a game average of 229 this year, highlighted by an 800 set against Livingston, which was tied for the high series from any bowler over the course of the entire season. He showed remarkable consistency throughout the year, with a 627 representing his lowest series of the season, scoring 641 or higher in every other match, including a 740 in a win over Seton Hall Prep. Knox was a vital part of West Orange’s 15-0 record and is a big reason why the team has lost only one regular-season match over the last three seasons. His 687 series average was the second-best in the entire state in 2021.

Also, the Super Essex Conference announced its final bowling standings and all-conference teams for the season. Knox was again recognized for leading in high game, high series and highest per game average across all three divisions — Colonial, Liberty and American. 

In the Colonial Division, WOHS took the lead with 99 points for and 6 points against, followed by Livingston High School at 80-25, Seton Hall Prep at 61-44, Millburn High School at 38-67, James Caldwell High School at 35-70 and West Caldwell Tech at 2-103. 

In the Colonial Division, Knox was the top player with a game high of 289 and a series high of 800. Making the Colonial Division first team are West Orange’s Knox with a game average of 229, Scott Lillis with 198 and Joshua Soto with 193; SHP’s KC Campbell with 213 and Anthony Stirone with 195; Millburn’s Alex Berg with 207 and Jared Bell with 201; Livingston’s Jacob Ullman with 206; and Caldwell’s David Cohen with 190. Making the second team are West Orange’s Owen Murphy with 187 and Joshua Allen with 184; Livingston’s Christopher Mullin with 174, Ethan Kok also with 174, Mory Ashenberg with 172, Armaan Rochlani with 171 and Ryan Mullin with 166; Caldwell’s Jason Fierro with 174; and SHP’s David Alworth with 173.

In the American Girls Division, Nutley High School took the lead with 62 points for and 8 points against, followed by Irvington High School at 56-14, Montclair High School at 35-35, Bloomfield High School at 31-39, Mount Saint Dominic Academy at 13-57 and Belleville High School at 5-54.

In the American Girls Division, Nutley’s Nicole Case was the top player with a game high of 215 and a series high of 518. Making the American Girls Division first team are Nutley’s Case with a game average of 150, Angelica Duffy with 137 and Julianne Carson with 128; Belleville’s Jada Martinez with 132; Irvington’s Rebeka Nunez with 131, Yatabou Njie with 122 and Anna Boayke with 121; Bloomfield’s Keyana Coley-Rice with 130; and Montclair’s Abigail Price with 125. Making the second team are Montclair’s Georgia Aishton with 115, Hazel Aiello with 108 and Alyssa Phillips with 104; Nutley’s Tatyana Salazar with 112; MSDA’s Alex Cruz with 111 and Kaitlyn H’Ladik with 105; Bloomfield’s Jennifer Cleary with 108 and Fatima Villagran with 104; and Irvington’s Reedgie Jean-Louis with 104.

In the American Boys Division, Bloomfield High School took the lead with 68 points for and 2 points against, followed by Nutley High School at 54-16, Irvington High School at 42-28, Montclair High School at 30-40, Eagle Academy of Newark at 7-63 and Belleville High School at 2-68.

In the American Boys Division, Eagle Academy’s Chris Padro was the top player with a game high of 254 and a series high of 725; Nutley’s Jordan Zarro was also recognized for having a game high of 254, tying with Padro. Making the American Boys Division first team are Bloomfield’s Chris Paccione with a game average of 204, Gabe Farabaugh with 183 and Eric Pabon with 170; Eagle Academy’s Padro with 199; Montclair’s Tal Burns with 187 and Aidan Walker with 161; Nutley’s Gianni Feraco and Jordan Zarro, both with 187; and Belleville’s Matthew Cardone with 179. Making the second team are Irvington’s Oladimejl Adejowable with 160, Ziquan Brown with 159, Carl Edouard with 157 and Ibukun Arotiba with 146; Nutley’s Kalvin Wong with 155; Bloomfield’s Biaggio DiGiano with 155; Eagle Academy’s Miotshwa Mafu with 150; and Montclair’s Danny Walker with 135 and Jayden Robinson with 125.