Bloomfield HS football team falls in heartbreaker to East Orange Campus, 32-29, for first loss of season

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

BLOOMFIELD, NJ – The Bloomfield High School varsity football team’s perfect season came to an end with a heartbreaking 32-29 loss to East Orange Campus on Saturday afternoon, Oct. 22, at Paul Robeson Stadium in East Orange in a North Jersey Super Football Conference-Liberty Blue Division game.

The Bengals moved to a 5-1 record. East Orange Campus is 4-2.

Senior running back Brandon Fernandes rushed for three touchdowns on 13 carries and 25 rushing yards and senior quarterback Ryan Mondo completed 11 of 21 passes for 155 yards for the Bengals. Senior receiver Myles Toppin had five catches for 110 yards; senior tight end/linebacker Danny Carter had four catches for 34 yards and eight tackles on defense; and senior running back Ky Bowman had two catches for 46 yards.

Fernandes also had six tackles as a linebacker.

After a scoreless first quarter, EOCHS scored two touchdowns in the second quarter for a 12-0 lead. Fernandes had a four-yard touchdown run and senior Victor Saccaro kicked the extra point to cut it to 12-7 at the half.

Fernandes scored on another four-yard run in the third quarter and Victor Saccaro kicked his second extra point to put the Bengals up 14-12 going into the fourth quarter.

Senior running back Zavion Stevens had a 20-yard touchdown run and Saccaro kicked the extra point to extend the Bengals’ lead to 21-12 in the fourth quarter.

But EOC rallied for three straight touchdowns to take a 32-21 lead.

Fernandes scored on a one-yard run and Mondo scored on the two-point conversion run to get the Bengals within three, 32-29, but EOC held on for the win.

Stevens finished with 79 rushing yards on 13 carries.

BHS senior linebacker Carlos Afful had 5 ½ tackles.

BHS, Montclair and West Orange are tied for first place in the division at 3-1. West Orange defeated Montclair, 29-26, Oct. 22 in Montclair.

The Bengals will host Bayonne (4-2) on Friday, Oct. 28, at 7 p.m. in a non-division game.