Irvington well-represented at EO reorganization meeting

EAST ORANGE, NJ — Irvington was well-represented at the East Orange City Council’s annual reorganization meeting on Tuesday, Jan. 1, with Irvington Democratic Committee Chairman Baseemah Beasley and South Ward Councilwoman Sandy Jones present. “Happy New Year to everyone,” said Beasley on Tuesday, Jan. 1. “This was a well-attended event for the council and we […]

EO City Council members organize citywide graduation party for Class of 2018

EAST ORANGE, NJ — East Orange City Council and the East Orange Board of Education recognized every graduate of the Class of 2018 with a citywide graduation party in the Ampere Parkway section on Saturday, June 30. East Orange 5th Ward Councilman Mustafa Brent and his wife, Kareemah Williams-Brent, joined forces with his Councilwoman Alicia […]

EO mayor introduces proposed $145 million budget

EAST ORANGE, NJ — Mayor Ted Green introduced a proposed city budget of $145 million for 2018, with a 2.7-percent tax increase, at the East Orange City Council’s regular meeting Monday, April 9. Green said there are no layoffs, no deferred compensation for employees and no interruptions in services for residents and business owners in […]

Freeholders honor public safety professionals

NEWARK, NJ — The Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders held its 2017 Public Safety Professionals Celebration on Wednesday, Oct. 18, at the Hall of Records in Newark to commemorate fire officials, police officers and first responders in Essex County for their selfless service. Freeholder President Britnee Timberlake began the program with welcoming remarks, celebrating […]

Hospital union endorses Robinson as 3rd Ward candidate

EAST ORANGE, NJ — East Orange 3rd Ward City Council candidate Mayme Robinson’s attempt to succeed Ted Green as the ward’s representative got a boost on Thursday, Oct. 5, when the National Union of Hospital and Health Care Employees, AFL-CIO District 1199J, endorsed her candidacy. “Our union, District 1199J and our Political Action COPE Committee […]

1 2 3 4